News and updates from the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation

Frank Lloyd Wright 150th Birthday Gala: A Red Tie Event

Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation | Nov 7, 2017

On November 4, 2017, Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation supporters gathered at Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona, to celebrate the great architect’s legacy and continuing influence on our culture during the 150th anniversary of his birth.

Rob Chambers and Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation President & CEO Stuart Graff.

Foundation Board of Trustees Chair Maja Wessels and Foundation Board of Stewards Member Charles Covington.

All photos by Terry Rishel unless otherwise noted.

Foundation Board of Trustees Member Christopher Thompson and Diana Smith.

Erin Goodman and Foundation Director of Marketing and Communication Jeff Goodman.

Foundation Board of Trustees Vice Chair Alanna Mack and Don Murray.

Foundation Board of Trustees Member Timothy Radden and Lee Radden.

Foundation Board of Trustees Member Joel Benkie and Mary Benkie.

Foundation Board of Trustees Member Anne Stupp.

Scottsdale Councilman David Smith and Diana Smith.

Above and left: Photos by Ruth Lin.

Guests began the night with a reception on the Prow and a self-guided tour through Wright’s living quarters and Garden Room.

Frank Lloyd Wright apprentice and keynote speaker Vernon Swaback and daughter Caroline Schlack. Photo by Gabby Abbott.

Foundation Summer Architecture Campers Ben and Olivia Ledesma with parents Paul and Lisa. Photo by Gabby Abbott.

School of Architecture at Taliesin students Lorraine Etchell and Xinxuan Liu.

Foundation Director of Preservation Fred Prozzillo and Marie-Jose Poulet.

Scottsdale Mayor Jim Lane and Joanne Lane.

Photo by Ruth Lin.

Photo by Ruth Lin.

Dinner, graciously created by Chef Charles Wiley of Mountain Shadows Resort, was served on the Garden Squares of Taliesin West.

Foundation Board of Trustees Member T.K. McClintock presenting the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation Award to the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy accepted by Larry Woodin.

Vernon Swaback.

Foundation Graphic Design Fellow Neeta Patel and Marketing Manager Gabby Abbott.

Thank you to our sponsors for their support in celebrating and advancing Frank Lloyd Wright’s legacy and the mission of the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation.


Premier Sponsor
David & Gladys Wright House

Gold Sponsors
Emily and T.K. McClintock
Carol C. McMullen and Sean C. Rush
Maja Wessels and Charles Covington

Silver Sponsors
Arizona Community Foundation
Mary and Joel Benkie
Jean and Barry Bingham
Freeport-McMoRan Copper & Gold, Inc.
Gensler Family Foundation
Rose and Harry Papp
Willis Towers Watson Insurance

Copper Sponsors
Alliance Residential Company
First Solar, Inc.
Diana and David Smith
Diana and Christopher Thompson

Underwriting Sponsors
American Art Collector
Candelaria Design Associates, LLC
Studio Lux
Tiffany and Co.

Culinary Sponsors
Fiji Water
Acumen Wine
Mountain Shadows Resort
Niman Ranch
Noble Bread
Press Coffee Roasters


Martha and David Bills
Laryn Callaway and Christiaan Blok
Sheila Harris
Debbie and Scott Jarson
Alanna Mack and Don Murray
Mary and Larry Manross
Kelly McCullough
George I. Meyer
Dottie O’Carroll
Lee and Timothy Radden
Mary and John Sather
Marsha and John Shyer
Roxane Smyer
Anne C. Stupp
Mary Way
Larry A. Woodin

News and updates from the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation